He Said Nothing


Scripture for the day:  Matthew 27:11-14 “Now Jesus stood before the governor.  And the governor asked Him, saying, ‘Are You the King of the Jews?’  Jesus said to him, ‘It is as you say.’ And while He was being accused by the chief priests and elders, He answered nothing.  Then Pilate said to Him, ‘Do You not hear how many things they testify against You?’ But He answered him not one word, so that the governor marveled greatly.”

Jesus said nothing.  I find that so hard to comprehend.  In our society, we usually try to blame someone else.  The list is long:  my mother didn’t love me enough, my father was absent from the home, my sister teased me, the dog ate it, etc.  We try to blame anyone but ourselves.  But to say nothing?  I can’t imagine.  When someone accuses me of something, I always have a comeback.  Staying silent never comes to mind as an option.  By staying silent, however, Christ did not condemn me.  I have salvation today because he said nothing.  He completed His work on the cross to save me.  No finger-pointing.  No excuses.  Just complete surrender to the will of His father to save mankind.  I strive to be like Christ.  I need to learn to say nothing.

Song for the day:  “A Purple Robe”

I’m not familiar with this song, but I read the words.  It had to be the song for the day.  The lyrics are beautiful:

“A purple robe, a crown of thorn, a reed in His right hand; before the soldiers’ spite and scorn I see my Savior stand.  He bears between the Roman guard the weight of all our woe; a stumbling figure bowed and scarred I see my Savior go.  Fast to the cross’s spreading span, high in the sunlit air, all the unnumbered sins of man I see my Savior bear.  He hangs, by whom the world was made, beneath the darkened sky; the everlasting ransom paid, I see my Savior die.  He shares on high His Father’s throne, Who once in mercy came; for all His love to sinners shown I sing my Savior’s name.”

Thank you, Jesus, for saying nothing.  I humbly sing praises to your Holy name.

Comments are closed.

