Walk On, Head Held High


Scripture for the day:  Isaiah 43:2 “Through the storm you do not walk alone. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you.”

Peril is a part of life.  The Israelites experienced it, and we experience it today.  We all have our own storms and waters to pass through, but the key is we are not alone.  God is there with us.  He promised He would be with us!  Four years ago I was walking through some mighty deep water.  Cancer had taken up residence in my body, and I was losing my battle.  But God intervened and provided excellent doctors and nurses to take care of me.  By His grace, I am alive!  I was never alone, and I praise Him for that.  As scary as those waters were, I knew He was holding me.  He would not leave me but would see me safely through.  At one point, I simply told God my life was His.  I didn’t know if I would wake up here or in Heaven.  I felt His presence, and I was at peace.  So today I pray for all the women who are dealing with cancer.  I ask God to comfort them if they are His or to bring them to a place of surrender if they don’t yet belong to Him.  And I humbly thank Him for just being there.

Song for the day:  “You’ll Never Walk Alone” by Rodgers and Hammerstein from the musical Carousel

This is one of my favorite songs!  I think no matter what the storm the lyrics apply.  We all have different trials in life but we can all face them the same: head held high, not afraid, with hope in our hearts.  My hope is in Jesus Christ.  It is because of Him that I can face tomorrow.  I will not walk alone.

Lyrics:

“When you walk through the storm, hold your head up high and don’t be afraid of the dark.  At the end of the storm there’s a golden sky and the sweet silver song of the lark.

Walk on, through the wind, walk on, through the rain, though your dreams be tossed and blown.  Walk on, walk on, with hope in your heart and you’ll never walk alone . . .”

Comments are closed.

