A Woman’s Heart


Scripture for the day:  Proverbs 31:27-31  “She watches over the ways of her household, and does not eat the bread of idleness.  Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her:  ‘Many daughters have done well, but you excel them all.’ Charm is deceitful and beauty is passing, but a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised.  Give her of the fruit of her hands, and let her own works praise her in the gates.”

 

God called me to be a caregiver and to be faithful in the little things.  He never meant for me to have a fancy title and be a CEO.  My most precious title is “mom” and it means as much to me as any list of initials after my name.  A few years ago, someone told me it was a shame I had wasted my life.  I had never had a career and so she considered me a failure.  It was very hard not to say something in my defense, but I held my tongue and just smiled.  Her opinion hurt but I realized it was coming from the world.  It doesn’t really matter what the world thinks of me, but it does matter what God thinks.  It pleases me that I have spent my life trying to be a Proverbs 31 woman, and I hope it has pleased God.  My life on this earth may not be worth much from a worldly point of view, but I like to think it has made a difference in the lives of those around me.  Ultimately, I hope one day I hear my Lord say, “Well done, my good and faithful servant.” That will be glory for me.

 

Song for the day:  “A Woman’s Heart” by Jenny Jordan Frogley

www.youtube.com/watch?v=IcCUE0fRTbA

 

This is a very beautiful song about what it is to be a woman.  You can listen to it on YouTube or just read the lyrics.  I pray I can be this kind of woman today.

 

A Woman’s Heart (lyrics)

 

Morning comes and finds her on her knees

The Spirit speaks and she is listening

She offers everything her soul can give

To make a difference through the life she lives

Her faith holds her family close

She understands what matters most

Her gentle touch is where love starts

That’s the way of a woman’s heart

 

She’s the keeper of the vision

She’s a beacon in the night

A teacher and defender of the truth

And everything she touches

Bears the traces of her light

She’s faithful to

What God Himself would do

 

She’s a friend to the lonely and the lost

Every day another bridge to cross

Her hands of mercy know the healer’s art

That’s the way of a woman’s heart

 

Evening comes and finds her on her knees

She speaks and He is listening

With sweet assurance that she’s done her part

She weeps in His peace

And that’s the way of a woman’s heart

 

Comments are closed.

