Words


Scripture for the day:  Proverbs 15:4  “A wholesome tongue is a tree of life, but perverseness in it breaks the spirit.”

 

Words.  Some are soft, caressing, comforting, soothing.  Others are sharp, painful, deleterious.  I have been on the receiving end of both kinds of words, and, unfortunately, I have used both kinds.  Words can wound like a knife or sword but they can also be a balm to the soul.  I often wish my words had strings attached to them so that I can quickly snatch them back.  But, alas, once they are spoken, they are just out there.  They hang in the air, wounding or comforting, all because I opened my mouth.  My prayer today is that I will think before I speak, considering not only the words but the recipient of those words.  It may be a very quiet day.

 

Song for the day:  “Near to the Heart of God”

 

A place of quiet rest near to the heart of God.  I want to dwell there today, a quiet place of joy and peace.  Thank you, Jesus, for making that possible.

 

 

Comments are closed.

