Going Home


Scripture for the day:  Philippians 3:12-14  “Not that I have already attained, or am already perfected, but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me.  Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, I press upward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

I attended a “going home” celebration yesterday, and so my thoughts today are on what lies ahead.  I think it is good to reflect on a life well lived, and losing a loved one is so hard.  But for a Christian the sting of death is simply not there.  That’s not to say there won’t be tears and difficult days ahead for the family, but there is also great comfort in knowing that death is not final.  I look forward to that day when I see my parents again, hug the sister who never knew life on this earth, grandparents, aunts, uncles . . . so many people who have gone on to be with the Lord.  But the most precious thing for me will be to see the face of my Jesus!  And so today I’m praying that God will continue perfecting me, making me more like His Son.  I pray that I will forget the sins of the past and press ahead toward the goal.  I can’t change yesterday but I can make a difference in today.  I pray that I will use today to make a difference in someone’s life through the shed blood of Christ.  Because of Him, all things are possible.  I am worthy and usable in the Kingdom because I am a child of God.  I praise Him and thank Him!

Song for the day:  “On Jordan’s Stormy Banks”

I am bound for the promised land!  Who will come and go with me?

Comments are closed.

