My Shepherd


Scripture for the day:  John 10:4-5  “And when he brings out his own sheep, he goes before them; and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice.  Yet they will by no means follow a stranger, but will flee from him, for they do not know the voice of strangers.”

 

My day is going well because the Shepherd has called me and I am following Him.  I have nothing to fear because He will take care of me, providing all I need and protecting me.  But what about the voice of strangers?  It was much easier in Jesus’ time to discern the voice of a stranger.  Our world can be filled with all kinds of strange voices on TV, the internet, and in books written by “experts”.  It is very easy to be drawn to the voice of a stranger now.  They are beguiling in their approach and promises.  They are subtle in their appeal, and it is easy to be drawn in and misled.  My prayer today is that His flock will stay true to His Word and not be led astray by strangers.  It is certainly more difficult now, but His Word is still true and will only lead us to our Shepherd.  I pray that we will stay so close to Him that we won’t be tempted by all the voices that bombard our world.

 

Song for the day:  “Wherever He Leads I’ll Go”

 

This is a beautiful hymn picturing a life lived in submission.  The second verse says:  “He drew me closer to His side, I sought His will to know, and in that will I now abide, wherever He leads I’ll go.”  That is my prayer today that He will draw me so close to Him that I will understand His direction and plan for my life and that I will be purposeful in following Him.  He is my Master and my King!

Comments are closed.

