The Loaded Gun


Friday, August 9, 2012

Scripture for the day:  Jeremiah 29:11 ‘“For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”’

“You have cancer”  Ugly words.  Very hard to hear, even harder to live with.  A friend who has just dealt with a recurrence described it as having someone behind you with a loaded gun.  You hear them pull back on the hammer, and then you wait.  And wait.  And wait.  God carried me through the ordeal called cancer and He carries me now in remission.  The loaded gun is still behind my head, and it will never go away.  But I do not live my life in fear.  I live my life in victory because God has plans for me.  I have hope.  I have a future . . . in Him.  My prayer today is for all those struggling with the beast called cancer.  May He strengthen those who call Him Father, and may the unsaved turn to Him in this most fearful time.  In all things, I give Him praise, honor and glory.

Song for the day:  “Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing”

“Come, Thou Fount of every blessing, tune my heart to sing Thy grace; streams of mercy, never ceasing, call for songs of loudest praise.”

Comments are closed.

