Praise!


Friday, September 2, 2011

 

Scripture for the day:  2 Corinthians 1:3-4 “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort those who are in any trouble, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.”

 

“C” words.  Connie is one of my favorite “c” words because my parents gave it to me.  It was a gift to last a lifetime, although the person bearing the name has changed many times.  There are two other “c” words that I never expected to hear in connection with my name:  cancer and chemo.  They are ugly words.  Hard to hear and hard to live with.  But they didn’t conquer me because I belong to Christ.  I confessed my sins years ago, accepted Him, and committed my life to Him.  Because of cancer and chemo, I can relate to others going through that tribulation.  Just by being alive, I can give them hope, comfort them.  I can show them that there is life after cancer, and it can be good.  God has given me a new life and a new ministry.  My prayer today is for all those struggling with cancer.  Today is “Teal Day”, a day to raise awareness about ovarian cancer.  September is ovarian cancer awareness month.  I am on a mission to raise awareness of this silent killer.  I guess you could say it is a commitment.

 

Song for the day:  “Count Your Blessings”

 

“Count your blessings, name them one by one . . .”  I used to sit in my recliner when I was going through chemo and count my blessings.  The list was so long, and I always felt better after I focused on all the good things in my life.  The list is still growing, and I’m still counting.

 

 

Comments are closed.

