Ovarian Cancer Awareness


Ovarian cancer is a silent killer.  It creeps into lives undetected and makes a home.  Most women simply don’t know it is there until it is too late.  I was fortunate because my cancer was Stage I and the chemo drugs have knocked it out for now.

Doctors almost never use the word cure.  They say there is “No Evidence of Disease”. And so, I’m in remission and dancing with NED. NED is a fickle partner, poised to leave me stranded on the dance floor at any moment. Who knows when the ugly beast could tap NED on the shoulder and he would be out of here. Gone.

I could spend my time worrying about this, but instead I choose to live my life fully and face the future with a smile. I don’t know when my situation will change, but I know God is in control. He has a plan, and so I rest in Him.

Cancer will not be a part of my life today. I will exercise, eat well, enjoy the love of friends and family. I am a survivor!!! For today, I can savor the joy of victory.

NED? I’ll enjoy my dance with him for the moment, but I realize he is fickle. I will cling to my Rock instead, trusting Him to help me deal with this life and prepare me for the next. With Him, all things are possible and so I choose to dance and sing and truly live.

September is National Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month.  Please join me in spreading the word about this deadly disease.

Symptoms include:  bloating, pelvic or abdominal pain, difficulty eating or feeling full quickly, urinary frequency or urgency.  The symptoms are vague and easily dismissed as something else.  If symptoms linger for more than two weeks, see a doctor.  Be persistent.  It took me 7 months to get a diagnosis, and I came very close to being another grim statistic of ovarian cancer.

Comments are closed.

